Skip to content

Book Series: The Mysterious Benedict Society

For the past several weeks, our family has been pulled in to the world of The Mysterious Benedict Society, created by Trenton Lee Stewart.  Currently there are three books in this children’s fiction series: The Mysterious Benedict Society, The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey, The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner’s Dilemma.

Two other books related to the series are: The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict and The Mysterious Benedict Society: Mr. Benedict’s Book of Perplexing Puzzles, Elusive Enigmas, and Curious Conundrums (a fun puzzle book for ordinary folks to decode and enjoy).

This extremely addictive trilogy centers around four children, Reynie, Stickie, Kate, and Constance, who are united by a man named Mr. Benedict to save the world.  Each of these children has a special gift, and they band together and dub themselves the Mysterious Benedict Society.

Trenton Lee Stewart is a great writer who knows exactly when to include a cliff hanger so to leave one craving for just one more chapter.  This series has given us a great family time as we read aloud through each book.  The four children are becoming dear to us, as if they are real.  Evers and I often muse how each of our children are like the respective children in the book.

I heartily recommend this series.  It has certainly provided a great family time for us.  Our only regret is that there isn’t another one in the series.  Perhaps the author is working on another one?  One can certainly hope.

Posted in Reviews.

0 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

Some HTML is OK

or, reply to this post via trackback.

three + = 6